• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • mateo43

    • 47, British
    • France
    • Checked in 4 months ago

Matthew James Cairns M.Sc, M.A.

I am interested in sailing to France or Spain from Ireland or Scotland in August/September.

Sailing and living experience:

I have mainly been working voluntarily on organic farms and small-holdings over the last 11 years.
I lived in Ireland for over a year (from July 2007) where I met and worked with an experienced sailor (Joe Aston) and with whom I sailed his 13m wooden schooner ( the Anna Maria) to Almerimar, Andalucia. I then lived on a variety of organic farms in Spain for 4 years before sailing with 2 Quebequois to Gran Canaria. For around 5 months In Las Palmas I helped restore voluntarily a 21m steel schooner and test-sail her to Graciosa and back to Las Palmas.

After this I lived on El Hierro for around 2 and a half years where I had the opportunity to develop my own gardens, eating and selling what I cultivated. I also did some dry-stone building there and busked on the tin-whistle, trumpet and treble recorder.

In March/April 2016 I sailed with two others on a 13m sloop (Beneteau, skipper Harald Stummeier) from Gran Canaria to Capo Verde and then on to Trinidad.

Over the last three years I have been volunteering on organic farms ( 3 months in Trinidad, 4 months in Venezuela, 3 months in Colombia, 5 months in Ecuador, 6 months in Peru, 2 months in Brasil and another 7 months in Trinidad ) .

More recently I helped sail the Tinorca from Cabadelo, Brasil to Chaguarmamas, Trinidad ( April 2018 )

I am from Scotland originally, where I lived for the first 35 years of my life ( I am 46 now). I have degrees in Mathematics ( 1st class honours M.A. Glasgow University) and Applied Computing ( M.Sc. Dundee University). In Scotland I have had years of experience as an art-model, musician ( trumpet mainly) and computer researcher.

I can speak English, Spanish and French.

I have a facebook profile at https://www.facebook.com/mjfcairns

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationFrance

  • NationalityBritish

  • Age47

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish, French

  • Basic knowledge ofPortuguese

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Novice Crew
    1st Mate
    Delivery Crew

  • Location preferenceNorth Atlantic

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos


show hide Q&A


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact mateo43


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.