• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Longtails Gal

    • 64, USA/Bermuda Status
    • United States
    • Checked in 16 hours ago

Looking for a Mile building, Voluntary work, Friendship or Novice Crew position

Hi - I retire in Jan or Feb 2022, and am looking for miles and to increase my basic level of competency. I have taken the basic course, been around boats most of my life, and am looking to get more miles in and around San Diego for now. San Diego, California, United States

I am new to sailing but love it. Looking for a partner for cruising.

I am a good cook and a fast learner. I can fish. I can clean fish and cook them but someone else has to kill them.

I love to snorkel and have my PADI card. I have a surfboard and a boogie board. I love to do all of those and have done them since I was a wee girl. I also love to just go for a row in a punt. I have been scuba diving in Bermuda, SoCal, and in Thailand. I can speak Spanish too. I like to do things locally. I am not a fan of resorts or fancy places. I want to be with the people, the regular, lovely people, the indigenous people. My kids are grown and doing well so now is my time to do what I have been wanting to which is go sailing. My hope is to be gone for years. I am interested in Austral-Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean, Bermuda (of course) Africa and the Med. Even as far north as the UK. It will be about 18 to 20 months before I clang the retirement bell.

I am the executive director of a nonprofit that does river restoration work. So I am very environmentally minded and have done a lot of advocacy. I have a background in government and am an urban planner by training. I am intellectually curious. I want to travel with people who are intellectually curious. I have a limited number of international contacts in the oceanography and climate science area.

I am easy going and don't get riled easily. I am calm and thoughtful in disasters.

I am a very light drinker and am not interested in partying a lot. Rather I am interested in exploring the most out of the way places and meeting people whose cultures and way of life are different than mine. I would rather have a couple of good friends than a boatload of fair-weather friends.

Not a Trump supporter.

And I can sing and enjoy singing with others.

Oh yeah, the profile picture was taken this year.
Sailing Experience:
I have been around boats all my life. I am from Bermuda. I have sailed in Panama and am sailing in San Diego. Hope to do the Baja Ha Ha this fall. I hope to find a boat that is willing to take me on, teach me.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationUnited States

  • NationalityUSA/Bermuda Status

  • Age64

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish

  • Basic knowledge ofSpanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles500 - 2,500

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Voluntary work
    Mile building

  • Location preferenceAustralia / Oceania

  • Expected arrangement Recreational

show hide Photos


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications


  • Jan 2020 ASA Basic Keelboat Progressing

show hide Q&A


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide References


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Longtails Gal


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.