• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • GirlWithADream

    • 54, British
    • United Kingdom
    • Checked in 1 week ago

Available now and for the foreseeable future, hoping for adventure in the Caribbean, or anywhere I can actually get to!

I'm Deb, and I'm mum to three grown up boys, so I've spent a lot of years juggling work with the school run. I think it's my turn to explore the world, and to create my adventures. I'm easy going, completely flexible, and open to anything at the moment - just exploring ideas and opportunities.

As a Brit, I've holidayed in many European countries and would therefore ideally like to expand my horizons and see more of the world out there. I'm talking about absolutely anywhere really! I’d particularly like to hang out in the Caribbean or Central America for a while, largely because flights are still operating to those areas from the UK. I don’t have any commitments right now, so in terms of how much time I have available for an adventure, I'm going to keep my fingers crossed and say about thirty years!

I absolutely refuse to lie about my age! I'm fifty four, and proud of that. I've worked hard to stay fit, and in terms of what I can offer, I believe that attitude is everything. If it can be done, I'll find a way. As you might have gathered, with having three boys, I'm pretty grounded and used to dealing with crises. I’m practical, reliable, and able to do most of the usual mum-stuff. I can cook decent meals, use IT, deal with red-tape, and navigate all kinds of temper tantrums! I'm willing to have a go at anything I've not attempted before.

My career has given me heaps of experience in seeing all perspectives. I therefore consider myself to have a well rounded and philosophical understanding of life. I'm not impressed by money, status, or job title, but rather by honesty and genuine kindness. Above all other things, I love depth and authenticity - I'm far too old for people who say one thing and do something else entirely. I place value on soul connections. That's not the same thing as saying that I'm looking for a soulmate, but it does mean that I value depth and rawness - give me the calloused reality over a polished veneer any day.

I’m an old soul. I love poetry and hardback books; I enjoy deep conversations that go on into the night; I adore the magic of stars in an inky sky, and the awakening light on the water at sunrise. And I love the sound of the breeze filling the sails, and the music of waves against the hull.

But I'm definitely not just about the good stuff! I'm a realist and a pragmatist, and perfectly capable of adjusting course when necessary. I also come with a disclaimer: I must hereby notify all who might read my profile that I'm not at all ladylike and my language can occasionally be... hmmmm... lively!! In fact I think it's fair to say that when the situation requires it, I can swear like a sailor :)

As you'll see from my profile, I'm looking for crewing opportunities and genuine, abiding friendship, rather than proposals of marriage - that's just not where I'm at. Human connections are so important in life, they're an essential part of how we move through our own narrative. Intimacy is a funny word, and it's an all-encompassing one. Although it can obviously refer to couple relationships, I prefer to think of it as something that arises from trust, from respect, and from tolerance of each others flaws.

SAILING EXPERIENCE:
As far as time on the water or nautical miles travelled goes, I bring more enthusiasm than actual sailing experience. The water feels like home to me, it's where I belong. I live close to Liverpool, so there's always been family maritime history. My great-granddad was a Captain with his own ocean going passenger ship, and my dad worked in a shipyard.

My first sailing experience was at school, on Windermere in the English Lake District, aged sixteen - I guess that gave me the bug. Then some years ago, I sailed the ICW for a wonderful six weeks, and had all kinds of challenges. We had a fire on board, we ran aground, and the engine stopped - but it's not an adventure until something goes wrong! It was never boring, and I'm always open to new experiences and challenges. In general terms, it was one of the best experiences of my life, and I loved every minute of it. I also have some experience of sailing off Fort Pierce in Florida; around Georgetown and Stocking Island in the Exumas; and I recently spent a fortnight in Sicily, sailing along the southern coast.

I was more of an observer/ deckhand/ general dogsbody than an active sailor on those occasions, but I understand the joys and challenges of the water.

I'm keen to learn as much about sailing as I can, and would eventually like to take RYA certificates, although I understand that certificates can never replace experience.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationUnited Kingdom

  • NationalityBritish

  • Age54

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles500 - 2,500

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Friendship
    Mile building
    Competent Crew

  • Expected arrangement Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

9
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact GirlWithADream

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.